Caged by Day, Free by Night

I walked down the street trying not to run but it got harder with every step. Underneath my skin the beast clawed, trying to break free of the bonds that held it back. I didn’t have long left. I sped up unconsciously turning down a side street in an effort to get to the park quicker. In an effort to get somewhere that the beast could be let free without worry, without danger. Each step brought me closer to my goal but with each step the urge to let go got stronger, the fight got harder.

I stumbled the last few steps into park forcing myself to keep going till I was hidden in the trees. I had barely made it when I fell to the floor back arching up as I let out a howl of pain. This was it, the beast was free of its cage. Bones cracked and elongated as the change took over in a fire of agony. Suddenly the pain faded and I collapsed panting to the floor before I surged to my feet.

It wasn’t a human that walked out of those trees but a sandy furred wolf that trotted out with its head held night as it scented the air. Giving a soft yelp it ran away bowling into another wolf that had emerged from a cluster of bushes not far off.

Leave a Reply

